Should a brand work with a Newbie Blogger?

22 Aug

Putting brands in touch with bloggers is what Blog-Match.com is all about.  This blogging resource is the place to be if your a blogger who wants to work with brands, or a company who needs bloggers to help promote their brand or company message.

What if you’re a new blogger, can you still register with us?  Yes you can!  Even if you have low visitor numbers at the moment, you should register with Blog-Match.com.

Should a brand work with a Newbie Blogger?  Yes they should!   And here is why:

  • A Newbie is already working extremelly hard to grow their visitor numbers
  • A Newbie is often overlooked by other brands so when they review your items they’ll have more exclusivety
  • If you work with a Newbie at the very start of their blogging project chances are they’ll become a loyal brand amdassor for you, rewarding your trust in them
  • A Newbie blogger will often go that extra (extra!) mile for a brand and really work hard on behalf of the brand

These are our thoughts on all the Newbies out there…. what do you think? We’d love to see your comments below…

21 Responses to “Should a brand work with a Newbie Blogger?”

  1. thegirlbehind August 24, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    I’m fairly new – certainly new to working with brands – and have just started talking to PR people about involvement. I’ve found all of my contact with PRs so far to be really welcoming and kind (one of the nicest emails I had this month was from a PR person saying [paraphrased] “You’re not a big enough blogger yet, but you will be – do come back”).

    DP and I have done a couple of just for fun review-type bits that we’re going to post on my blog to try and build our experience and show what we can do. I do think there’s something important about being able to demonstrate examples (we had lots of fun with testing crumpets at the weekend!).

    Totally agree with your points about PR people building relationships with bloggers early on. It makes complete sense that good relationships now will last into the future.

    • regardsrainbow August 24, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

      Did you want to try and do a guest post for us on ‘starting out’ ? We would link to your blog and hopefully increase your readership?

      • thegirlbehind August 24, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

        Hi – Would love to.

        Let me know if you have anything in mind – or I could just draft something for you to look at?

  2. claire August 24, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Hi,I’m new to blogging well( 6 months now)and working really really hard to build my followers up and I work really hard at trying to do good honest reviews,I have applyed for a few reviews with you but heard nothing 😦 so I am glad to hear thay you are considering me and I hope one day to do a good review for you 🙂

  3. claire August 24, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    Wow that was quick,I have just got a parcel from you ,glad I have the chance to review for you Thank you for this 🙂

  4. nicci cowdell-murray (@bubbalovesblog) August 26, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    I totally agree, sometimes newer bloggers are brushed aside as they dont have massive following/ or enough unique visitors….. but most of the time them are the bloggers that work their butts off to produce really good reviews . I have only been up and running since May so i’m still really new but i spend most of my free time emailing , taking photos and posting reviews. I have had some lovely experience with PR’s and a couple of cheeky request too! but my blog is still young and im still learning. I love being part of Blog-match as i feel it really helps out with newer blogger/reviewers.

  5. Elaine Livingstone August 27, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Hi, I only started blogging at the beginning of April,not quite 5 full months. I have 156 followers so I am not huge.
    I do a lot of allergy free baking and wanted to expand on this. So I wrote to a lot of companies and have had a great response, from a free £300 ice-cream maker to currently negotiating with a whole food supply to post on their new site in return for freebies every month, and many smaller things as well.
    Dont get me wrong some companies did not respond, some did and said no thank you, but like most people I did not start my blog looking for freebies, I started it because I wanted to build memories with and for my grandchildren, and I am enjoying doing it. The freebies for me at least are just an added bonus.
    ps was wondering where the item had come from, granddaughter will give it a run for its money on Monday

  6. Claire September 5, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    Okay, just putting this out there so please dont start shooting me down for an opinion but what does the brand actually get out of it, in real terms, about working with beginners? or even older blogs which have minimal followers…

    Yes, they may promote actively – but if only a hundred or so people are listening on twitter, and a handful of subscribers – then the reach is minimal. Im not being a critic for the hell of it, just this post and comments are all rather one sided?

    You do, fact, get more reach with more established bloggers. And it’s about putting the brand out there, isnt it?

    I’d welcome your thoughts on this …

    • regardsrainbow September 6, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

      We love a hot debate! What does anyone else think? Should brands target only the more established bloggers? How do newbies get a foot in? Why should brands take an interest in Unique Visitors? Come and comment !

      • Elaine Livingstone September 6, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

        In reply to Claire who I can fully see where she is coming from but the way I look at it is – just because blog has say 2000 followers does not all of those 2000 are all going to read the blog post on said Product, or retweet the link/
        If I was to tweet about Product X and you have an interest in that Product then surely you are just as likely to click my tweet as other blogs tweet because until you get to my blog you dont know whether I have 20 followers or 2000 followers.
        Same goes if you see a product review on Facebook or blog match if the product is something that may interest you then you will click the link and read the review.
        Newbies I think have to find their own way in, be it through sites like this or in the way I did ( https://bloggermatch.wordpress.com/2011/08/28/guest-post-fun-as-a-gran/).
        Newbies still have family and friends and work colleagues and I can rant about a product or company by mouth as effectively as by written word. My unique visitor does not have to visit my blog to buy a product I have been impressed with.

  7. mummyvswork September 6, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    My blog has been running for just under 8 weeks now and i’ve had some great contact, others have said no and some just don’t bother replying at all.

    I think they must see so many people coming through that they can only go for certain stats/blogs etc but it is nice when one of the bigger companies/pr’s pick you up – makes you feel like you’ve achieved something 🙂

  8. seasiderinthecity September 6, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    This is an interesting one! I’ve been blogging since the start of the year but been doing reviews as part of panels for many years (only small bits here & there).
    To begin with I got quite downhearted, not because of lack of PR input but because other bloggers (not all) were very quick to judge the newbies, thinking we were only in it for freebies and were going to steal theirs away!
    I firmly believe there is room for everyone and definitely think that brands should work with a good cross-section of bloggers.
    To answer Claire’s point, I sometimes wonder why brands want to work with us. I guess it’s the links to their sites and good search engine hits. I get a good number of hits everyday coming from search engines with people looking for reviews.
    I very rarely get asked for unique hits, but sometimes my lack of pagerank is an issue

    • nicci cowdell-murray (@bubbalovesblog) September 8, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

      i totally agree with your comments, i get it all the time as i blog and review products with my two nephews who i mind every day .,… some bloggers have been damn right nasty and ive had comments about it on a few occassions, in fact it put me off interacting with other bloggers as i thought they would all be the same, Im glad ive found some nice blogger through blog match tho x

  9. nicci cowdell-murray (@bubbalovesblog) September 6, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    totally agree elaine, and actually i think a brand gets lots from new bloggers ….often more well established blogs might not want to review a product , whereas a lot of newer blogs will jump at the chance to review that item to help build up a portfolio of work they have done.
    No matter the size of the blog, if the writer is engaging, enthusiastic and puts a lot into their reviews people will want to read it.

  10. Miss Mamo September 6, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I had some amazing help from some lovely PRs when I first started blogging, I have kept an excellent relationship with them and it benefits us both well, I get readers now still finding my blog through early posts I did for things like Kettle chips! This help early on is what started my portfolio of reviews and it has just kept growing. I do think that page rank is focused on too much when it comes to certain PR companies though and it sometimes can make it a bit harder to get where you want your blog to be.

  11. Mandi Morrison September 7, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I only began blogging in June and have been overwhelmed by the response or PRs, having six children of different ages and interests obviously means that we can pretty much cover most items for review, but as you have mentioned my blog at the beginning didn’t have many followers, but I am working hard to change that and I am also amazed at the support of other bloggers, it really is like a little family, I have as yet not had any negatives to report, but I am also very grateful to blog match for allowing all bloggers reagrdless of ranking/followers etc to be allowed to review, which is why I must go and finish the Fab Efex review before I get a telling off!

  12. A Mum (@HelpfulMum) September 7, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    I have just started doing reviews on my blog. As yet, I haven’t been approached by any PRs but I have e-mailed plenty of companies and had great responses.

    I’m not in it for the freebies (I have discovered that I enjoy writing). I think that a Mum’s opinion, (however many followers they have) is very valuable to other Mums. Advertising by brands can suggest that 9 out of 10 Mums prefer a product, but I would rather buy something based on an individual’s opinion.

    Also, I was completely unaware when I first started my blog properly (June 2011) that you could even get freebies! I can see why a brand would prefer a ‘proper’ blogger over someone like me, but we all have very valid opinions and what we write will show up in search engines and, hopefully, increase our number of followers.

    • sarahmumof3 September 12, 2011 at 9:15 am #

      I dont really know what consists of being a ‘proper’ blogger? I feel very lucky that I was accepted onto the toys r us toyologist project… does that instantly make me a ‘proper blogger?’ does it instantly rank me higher than the next? I wouldn’t really say so… I haven’t been blogging very long (then again maybe thats by my standards maybe others see me as an ‘older’ blogger?) I don’t really mix with other bloggers, I do try and visit other blogs but I struggle with twitter, so miss out on that side of things.. I haven’t contacted companies personally… is this the way to go? I just sort of float around and see what happens, I blog because I enjoy it, I love taking photos and making fun videos… and love to just pick up bits and bobs here and there to give me an avenue to create with 🙂 I still feel ‘new’ to it all I guess because I am still trying to find where I fit in to the world wide web… but for now I just enjoy what I’m doing so I’ll continue with that 🙂 So should brands use ‘newbie’ bloggers, I guess so… because I don’t really see the differance a blog is a blog and a new post with good content will be recieved as well as a post on an ‘older’ blog… also its not all about blogs is it? My videos on youtube get lots of hits, some of them have had over 5000 hits in short spaces of time… networking is a whole wide scope, its not just how many followers you have, or how many friends on facebook, its how far you can potentially spread the word, and even with no followers you may well spread the word alot futhur than someone with 100’s of followers, if you create a engaging video of the project which gets caught up in youtubes featured section…

Leave a Reply

