Guest Blog – Emily Jones from Education Recycle

2 Sep

 Education Recycle 

Being a Newbie is not easy

“I am way out of my depth with this Blogging thing” I thought it would be so easy, set up a page and start writing about my passion, children and education. How hard can it be? I am doing a Law degree; I run a family business and have a family. Blogging was meant to be a bolt on to my site, a fun way to get out the reason why we are running a site for free…but oh no… IT HAS TAKEN OVER MY LIFE. I mean it…it has actually taken over my life and now influences what I do, think about, do with my family – oh look what my daughter/husband/dog is doing– first thought is not that it is funny/thought provoking/sad… but that would make a great Blog…”hang on darling, do that again so mummy can take a photo”

“Can we go out Mum?” …”NO, mummy is writing a blog about the last trip out, can’t you put the TV on for a bit”

So I am new to this, I am a species known in the Blogging world as a “newbie” – yes I am the one that posts in the wrong forum on Britmums and still can’t get her head round a blogbuzz or blog carnival and I still laugh at the word “Linky”, I’m sorry it is a very funny word, especially when said by grown adults!

And pray tell me what “Klout” is? I thought it was when someone hit someone over the head – you know giving them a clout. All I know is that I am NOT a big “influencer” but I am an “observer”– is that another way of saying you are not very good then, such a polite way of saying it though.

It sounds like I hate what I am doing, I don’t, I love it – but there is a big scary Blogging world out there and for a newbie who couldn’t even text two years ago it has been a steep learning curve.

My family and I wanted to make a difference to family’s lives by setting up our site which gives a platform for families to give and take educational items. We were so fed up with only some children being able to afford the equipment needed to succeed in education, including my own child that we decided to embark on a project to change things. It is working, but we are seeing life through different eyes, not everyone wants us to succeed – maybe we are taking business away from others, but we have come across some very hard people who will do what it takes to stop you.

On the other hand we have come across very kind and giving people who want nothing more than to help us on our way and we thank them.

Life has changed for my husband and me. I am sure we will continue to spend the next couple of years going to bed, putting the lights on low and reaching over to put the laptops on to check on e mails, scores, likes and trying to get our Linky on others Linkys! That’s love for you…whispering in your loved ones ear just before you go to sleep…”darling we have 5 more likes on Facebook”

I would like to say to anyone that has come across me, thank you for your patience and I am getting better every day I embark on this project – I am a better person for it, of that I am sure.

You can visit my blog at http://education-recycle.blogspot.com/

You can visit my site at www.educationrecycle.net

16 Responses to “Guest Blog – Emily Jones from Education Recycle”

  1. Liz Tumbridge September 2, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I just wanted to say, I enjoyed reading this post so much! I’m a Newbie Blogger too. In fact I have only had my blog for a couple of weeks, although it is something I have wanted to do for ages. I finally found the confidence through other bloggers who helped me and were there with advice when I needed it, and still are!! I feel like a tiny fish in the ocean right now, but slowly I know will get the hang of it. The important thing is, I love to write and to share my experiences with others, so surely I’m part way there already …? Thanks for sharing this. It has really helped xx

    • Emily Jones September 2, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

      Hi Liz – well done for taking the blogging plunge x To say thank you for replying to my blog please leave your URL of your blog and I will put a link up on mine – us newbies we need to support each other ! Are you on Britmums ? If so I will become a friend x Good luck with your writing.

  2. Liz Tumbridge September 3, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    Thank you so much. I am not a Britmums member … yet! My blog URL is http://hartofthemunchkinpatch.blogspot.com/ . It’s so nice to know that there is support out there amongst other newbies, and that I am far from the only one feeling a little overwhelmed and sometimes lost by the whole experience. However, although it has only been 2 weeks, I am really enjoying the writing and look forward to doing LOTS more! I follow your blog, and look forward to reading lots more from you. Thanks again for the brilliant post and for making us fellow newbies feel less nervous! 🙂 xx

    • regardsrainbow September 3, 2011 at 8:25 am #

      You should certainly sign up for Britmums – it’ll really help with being a newbie – loads of experience on there and they are always happy to advise x

  3. Liz Tumbridge September 3, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Thank you! I think I’ll do that 🙂 x

  4. Liz Tumbridge September 3, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I have registered with BritMums. Am just waiting for my approval so I can login 🙂 Thanks again for the advice xx

  5. Not Just A Mummy September 4, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    a fantastic read, couldve been written by myself, i have found its taken over my life too- in a good way, i cant cook a meal without photographing it!

  6. Emily Jones September 5, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Hi Not Just A Mummy
    Thank you for the comment – I will start following your Blog – if you want to share links on each others blogs then just let me know and I will add yours to mine. I will put a feed one up of your blogs.

    Let me know and I will link with you !

    As you can see I run a site – so if you are interested in doing a Guest Blog then we would love you to.

    Thank you x

  7. Elaine Livingstone September 7, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    yes blogging does take over your life, you keep going and looking for replies, you look at your page views, but I think that is part of the excitement. As long as you dont forget why you started your blog ( In my case to leave my grandchildren a legacy and memories) and you enjoy doing it then that is what matters.
    I have had help from plenty of others, and have used up my 100 tweets an hour tweeting on getting help for my blog, and have not yet found a more experienced blogger who wasnt willing to help. take it slow. learn to walk before you run and you will be fine.

  8. Not Just A Mummy September 7, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    ive added u to my blog and im happy for u to add me, if u look the the right of my blog page under Blogroll ur link is called education recycle 🙂
    ill have a think about a guest blog post, i do recycle but im the only one out of me and my partner that does!

  9. Fran September 10, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    Hi Emily! Welcome to the insanity that is blogging; I actually laughed out loud as read the part about asking the children to do it again… hilarious! (and yes, I have done that too)
    I’ve been blogging for a couple of years on and off, rather sporadically but this year it seems to have taken off in terms of readers for some reason!
    I agree about the funny words, Klout and Linky are just two that make me smile, I think bot and vlog are pretty amusing too!
    What an absolutely wonderful idea you have there too! In the midst of some pretty unfriendly bloggers (and some very lovely ones too I hasten to add!) sometimes blogs and sites like yours really restore your faith in the good of human beings. I am going to add your blog to my reading roll and share the idea around. So very kind, and I am sure that as people learn about it and your site grows lots of children will benefit!

  10. Emily Jones September 10, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    Hello

    You know I was having a really bad day and then I switched on my laptop and saw your message – Thank you – has cheered me up no end!

    I have become friends with you – and loved your blog, you look like you know what you are doing on the old blogging thing.

    Thank you for showing your support – we need more like you ! Keep in touch x Emily

  11. Mark Lloyd September 12, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Hi Emily

    I really enjoy reading this post. It’s very inspiring and great to hear how passionate and committed you are to what you are doing. I think you are a bit further along a similar journey that i am embarking on and it’s a big help to me to read about what you’ve been doing.

    I’m also very new to blogging and not sure if i’m doing things correctly and following the correct blogging etiquette. It’s nice to know i’m not the only one with these concerns.

    Good luck and I look forward to following your progress.

    • Emily Jones September 13, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

      Hi Mark

      Glad you enjoyed the Blog – I think I had a look at your Blog, doing the craft things.

      We loved it at education recycle, and we wondered if you would like to advertise your blog on our site as cheap / free making, crafting – we would put you under the “Make” tab and put a link to your blog – Up to you, if you are interested then e mail me at emily.jones@educationrecycle.net. Put in subject line your name so I don’t miss you. Thank you Emily

Leave a comment